Article by Delta Driving School.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has announced its latest changes for 2019 to the current driving laws. These took effect on January 1, 2019 so it’s important for drivers to be aware of them.
Ignition Interlock Device for Driving Under the Influence – (SB 1046, Hill)- This law is for those who are repeat DUI offenders or who have been involved in an accident where someone was injured. It is now mandatory for repeat offenders to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for 12 to 48 months depending on the circumstances of the case. This law is in effect from January 1, 2019 to January 1, 2026.
Gender Identity Male, Female or Nonbinary (SB 179, Atkins): You can now self-certify your gender when applying for a California driver license or ID card. If you choose nonbinary, then your card will have an “X” under gender.
Smog Check Changes, New Abatement Fees (AB 1274, O’Donnell): The existing smog check exemption is now applicable to vehicles that are up to 8 years old. That’s an improvement to the old exemption for vehicles only 6 years old. The $20 smog abatement fee is still in effect for vehicles up to 6 years old. Those vehicles involved in the additional two years will pay an annual $25 smog abatement fee.
Temporary License Plate Program (AB 516, Mullin): This law affects both new and used vehicles. California dealers must attach temporary paper license plates to any vehicle sold whether new or used at the point of sale. A vehicle cannot be driven off the lot without temporary plates (or the current metal plates). This law is intended to reduce the toll violations.
This article was written and provided by Delta Driving School. If you are looking for Driving School in Glendale CA make sure to visit their website.